This website uses cookies to improve your experience while you navigate through the website. They have extremely vibrant colors and long, strong stems. Great advice! I planted dinnerplate dahlias and most of them grew to about 3 foot tall. … I'm not an expert, I'm just some person with a garden. Great Plant Combination Ideas A real breakthrough in the world of Zinnias, the hybrid 'Profusion' Series is a stunning cross between Zinnia angustifolia and Zinnia Elegans which combines the best traits of both species: disease resistance; drought, heat and humidity tolerance and easy maintenance (no deadheading). Great Plant Combination Ideas Another note you should make is where the sun falls and for how long. Did you know that you can pinch your zinnias for the same results? With this type of exposure, I planted the tallest plants in the center and smaller around the border. Why everybody loves Zinnias: Probably no plant can give you more color for less work. These cookies will be stored in your browser only with your consent. (This was expected as it was a first-year plant and they normally take two seasons before they bloom.) Zinnias, our most popular flower seeds, are very easy to start from seed. My zinnias, despite aggressive cutting of blooms and deadheading regularly, grew to over 5 foot tall. The finely divided foliage is attractive and acts as a light but effective filler, making this plant one of the best filler foliage plants. That's a lot! Dahlia flowered zinnias have a flower form rather similar to one form of dahlia. These seeds yield deep violet flowers. Growing to be about 30-40” tall, Dahlia-Flowered Zinnias are perfect for the back border of the garden, meadow, or cutting bed. Persian Carpet Zinnias. (30 cm) to 36 in. plants This desirable and long-lasting summer border is fairly easy to replicate in order to be enjoyed at home. Dahlia plants grow from tubers. Nostalgic feelings. It is a great choice for the front of borders, beds or large containers. Th