Part of the series: Home Insect Help. ... Commercial frangipani growers suggest the problem is worse in areas where fruit-spotting bug and beetle activity is high. Buds become deformed and brown streaks and spots appear on the petals. Miller, et al. The management practices discussed below will control these mites as well. Carefully remove and place infected leaves into trash bags. Thrips are tiny, winged insects less than 1/20 inch long. Both adults and nymphs damage plumeria plants by sucking plant sap from the leaves and stems. Webbing also appears on the leaf. The leaves of the white frangipani, which grow about a foot long, cluster in spirals on the stems and are generally a deep green. As a former landscaper, I have seen a lot of plant diseases. Although they can grow 20 feet tall or higher in the wild, gardeners often control their size by planting them in pots. Plan the perfect garden with our interactive tool →, Hawaii Top Ten: Plumeria Care & Growing Tips, University of California; Scales; S. H. Dreistadt, et al. ; March 2007, University of California; Giant Whitefly; T.S. Treatment of Plant Aphids With Diluted Dishwashing Liquid, Central Texas Gardening: Southeast Texas Gardening, National Gardening Association: Plant Care Guides: Plumeria, The Plumeria Society of America: Pests and Diseases, How to Make the Leaves of a Schefflera Plant Shiny, The Causes of Sticky Substances on Indoor Grapefruit Plants. Portions of the plant stem will have been chewed away and slime trails may be visible near the plants. Remove affected plant parts and destroy them. Trees don’t suffer permanent damage from their feeding, even when a tree is completely defoliated. All Rights Reserved. Plumerias usaully recover after the bug are brought under control. The injury point turns black as the sap dries. Spider mites are major pests of plumeria. The flowers are healthy. In most instances, gardeners can ignore the problem, as small infestations do not affect the plumeria's health,